… a great day to be out

September 28, 2009

What an amazing day. I felt absurdly confident as I made my way down to the beach. However the first thing I saw as i walked round the corner was the weed. Where has that come from! In the space of 48hrs it has re-appeared back to its normal summer levels.

I hoped that due to the small tide that it wouldn’t cause too much trouble (in fact it was hardly an issue) and quickly set-up the usual carp rod and lobbed out a large piece of mackerel on a 5/0.

Conditions were amazing for the time of year. The seagulls were out in force diving and feeding on something, but I couldn’t work out what. I almost wished I brought my plugs with me.

Unknown to me I got the tide wrong by two hours (!) which would probably explain why the weed wasn’t an issue, and why I ran out of bait before prime time, however I did miss one great take. The rod pulled, then pulled again and I watched the line cut through the water from right to left; surely I couldn’t miss? But rather than feel the satisfying solidness I just watched my lead and bait skip in towards me!

Once again I saw a small bass jump from the corner of my eye (maybe a sign that I am failing to interpret) but I packed away happy as the moonlight shone its reflection over the sea towards me… it really had been a great day to be out.

Leave a Reply

