Time and tide waits for no Man…

August 3, 2011

I have had my eye on a spot for a while and decided that tonight would be a good chance to try it out. During low tide a small shingle strip is created infront of some large boulders, and my idea was to fish very close in as the tide turns and makes its way in on the flood.

Arrived to find that it was a lot more difficult to get me and the rod down to the newly formed shoreline than I thought, but I was soon installed in my new swim, and if I’m honest quite chuffed as it felt I was on virgin territory. Bait was to be mackerel head and guts from a recent trip, I say was to be as I discovered that I had left my cutting board and knife back in the shed when I was sorting out my stuff to go. I contemplated using the small scissors I use to hack away at the still frozen fish, before I discovered two frozen squid in the same bag – result!

Managing  to prize the two baits apart I dug my heel deep into the shingle by the water’s edge to form a small pool to help defrost the frozen squid. After placing it into the newly formed pool I turned to tidy away the rest of my gear before turning back to reclaim my bait, but to my frustration an incoming wave must have picked it up and sent it out into the sea. I was now down to one, so carefully I took my last offering down to the water’s edge and patiently waited for it to thaw. unfortunately the tide was making a lot quicker than I was expecting, and three major soaking’s later the squid was ready for a pennel hook-up.

 

Already the strip I was meant to be fishing from was reduced to a patch barely the size of a large dining table so a quick underhand lob was required to get me started. It felt right, if there was a bass working along the shore line I felt that I was in the right place at the right time but as so often as late it was not to be. Time was against me as the tide was already tight against the rocks, so after 30 minutes or so, I had to make my way back – which was not as easy as it sounds.

A spot with real potential, definitely worth trying again.

Leave a Reply

