My Favourite Rod

January 26, 2012

This is a reply to a great post on http://spotoffishing.blogspot.com/   – but for the life of me I can’t seem to update his site. I hope he gets the chance to read it here.

May I add mine to the growing rack?

A solid pale-green fibreglass homemade rod, of about 5ft in length, given to me as a present for Christmas some 40 years ago. I can still recall asking my Mum why Dad was working in the shed late at night on Christmas Eve. In fact when I opened the present, I was told not to touch the blank as the varnish was still tacky from the cold night in the shed.

The handle, assembled from a series of cork rings  had never seen the rough side of a sheet of sandpaper, which meant the ends were flat and at 90 degrees to the blank. It was teamed up with a Galeon fixed spool reel and together they were the best present I had ever received.

Before I could go fishing I had to learn to cast. Success was measured by clearing the shed at the bottom of the garden. The lead used for this initiation? 4 lego brick’s clicked to the end of the line!

Many thanks for dragging out some great memories, and I think I will be visiting the old shed very soon to see if my little green rod of magic is still there.

Leave a Reply

