Purple, gold and crimson

July 26, 2012

The conversation with the mullet angler has made me do a bit of head scratching. The excitement he showed when explaining the first hit and the following run from a mullet was infectious and made me want to instantly buy myself a fly outfit. The following day was spent ‘researching ‘ on the net and it didn’t take long to come up with a kit that would suit my needs.

The reaction from the happy throng gathered around the dinner table that evening however told a different story, and it meant that I would have to re-think my approach and save the fly kit for another day, but during my reading it became clear that for most mullet fly fishing, most anglers use a fly that represents a lump of bread so surely I could adopt a carp method to suit. Again a period of head scratching followed.

In the shed I had a packet of artificial bread-flake that I bought over 10 years ago and had never got around to using, amazingly I was able to find it on my first try along with some suitable hooks. My first attempt was to cut away a piece, carefully slice along a side and superglue the shank of the hook into the recently made slot. Bobbing away in a bowl of water it looked amazing as the weight of the hook kept everything inline and balanced. Further versions did without the knife job as the density of the bread was so thick that I was able to just push through the hook and it would stay in place without the need of glue. Soon I had 4 examples bobbing away quite happily in a bowl of water.

I also decided to try braid as the mainline due to a comment made during our conversation, ‘ I only hit about 1 in 7 as the takes are so fast’, surely braid would give me more immediate contact with the mullet and hopefully make sure of more hook-ups? I have also decided, from my carp days, to use an inline controller (again purchased many years ago) to act as a bolt rig to help increase my hook-up success. (I appreciate the use of braid for mullet is not recommended however the area is free from snags and obstructions so in theory I can allow it to run freely)

Well theory is fine but putting it all into practise is another thing altogether. I have just returned from a trip and discovered that the inline controller doesn’t float! (how could anyone make/sell  it is beyond me) but luckily I had a small bubble float that I was able to use in its place, plus the strength of the outgoing tide was a lot stronger than I had anticipated causing me all sorts of presentation problems. But this can all be fine tuned as it was all  just fantastic.

I will try to not wax too lyrical but as the sun was setting below the horizon it turned the sea into a mixture of purple, gold and crimson; the only sounds were the distant plaintive call’s of the Curlew and the audible swirl of mullet smacking the surface, and I had waded out right in the middle of it – at times it was breathtaking.

This fishing lark is just great.

6 Responses to “Purple, gold and crimson”

  1. An interesting article and that artificial bread looks spot on, Can I just ask you a quick question? What brand/make is the artificial bread that you used?

    Thank you in advance
    Mark

    • Hi, I bought the bread about 15years ago, and if I remember correctly it had only just come onto the market. I remember it was bloody expensive but I can’t recall the brand. Sorry – glad you enjoyed the article, its such a shame that I was unable to follow those trips up this year. Tight lines

      • Thanks for taking the time to reply, I have been looking about and found some that looks similar to that in your picture. Partridge artificial floating bread. Thanks again for the reply.

  2. Could the fake bread you use possibly be the version made my Partridge or Redditch? They were one of the first to release it on the market? Do you still have the packet that your bread came in?

Leave a Reply

