Ambur’s Mirror

July 27, 2012

In the back of my mind I had doubts about the artificial bread, surely if it was that simple everyone would be using it. I just couldn’t  convince myself that the mullet would accept/take it due to its firmness, so with these thought’s in mind I visited a local ‘runs’ water to try it out on the carp population.

This place can usually guarantee you some action but presumably this hot spell has helped to make an easy trip very hard . It took a while but eventually I was able to persuade a small group of carp to feed in the margins under the safety of a tree. From my vantage point I was able to watch in the gathering gloom a succession of carp mouth and turn away from the un-natural qualities of the bread. It was only after returning to slow sinking natural bread flake that myself and Ambur were eventually able to winkle one out under the cover of darkness.

It was an absolute bionic mirror of about 4lb that led Ambur a merry dance all around the swim. At one point after taking line for the umpteenth time I started to think that maybe we had  hooked into something a bit decent. We were both shocked at how small it was when we peered into the landing net.

So it is back to the drawing board with the bread idea, but I have new one brewing and I will update as soon as  I have tried it out.

Leave a Reply

