In Splendid Isolation

December 5, 2012

A brisk December Day. The sun has tried its best to release the cold shore-line from its winter morning chill, but the wind has swung further west than predicted and it just won’t give in.

A distant Hovercraft pushes past fighting the wind reminding me of enjoyed distant summer holidays on the Isle of Wight as a child. In the distance a buzzard is trying hard to find thermals in order to raise its view, meanwhile both rods stubbornly refuse to show any signs of life.

I’m about to hit the new hotspot time if my late autumn sessions are a guide, however today is going to be a bit different as I have decided to write a few thoughts down while I fish.

The tide I’m guessing is about 1/2 hour away from high so I will renewing my baits very soon. Despite the cold it really is great to be out, the few dog walkers that have ventured out when the sun first made an appearance have long since departed and I am left in splendid isolation (that would make a great title). A bite would be nice though.

Just rebaited with mackerel, one head and guts and the other a whole flank. The wind is becoming really blustery now and I am thankful that the sun is still out. A dog walker has ventured out this far; they are obviously a much hardier breed in the winter as a summer walker would have turned back by now.

Just checked the time and it appears that the magic time is slipping away. I feel a succession of last casts may be in order though.

And that was it really, kept going with the last casts and tried to be a bit arty with the camera. A really nice afternoon though.

December Sunset

December Sunset

 

2 Responses to “In Splendid Isolation”

  1. I always enjoy your writing. Nice to see you blogging again.

Leave a Reply

