Still searching

January 10, 2013

It has just turned slightly chilly as if a front may be coming in. Rain? I hope not, I’ve been here for about an hour now, set up in the dark sat back and had been enjoying the almost spring like conditions.

I nearly forgot, a belated happy New Year to you and your families. I hope it was a good one.

Bait today is squid fished close in as usual, in the hope of a late bass. The chances are very slim but I have a hunch that they hang around a lot longer than we realise and the only way of finding out, is to try.

This is my first trip out this year and like the last entry I’m writing it ‘live’ as I’m fishing. The conditions are absolutely flat calm with a grey mist rolling in from the island, the sky and the millpond sea have combined into one bank of grey. Just then to my right the furnaces of the nearby docks must have been lit as two great flames burst from the chimneys, the grey is making a great backdrop.

I don’t normally fish this spot over high but I have a feeling that I could be cut-off and be in for a longer than expected session. Just looked at the time and its now 9 o’clock and high was 8.40 so my fears are unfounded. I’m sure it was a 4.6m tide today, so I’ve made a mental note for future trips.

Just changed the squid, I’m trying to do this roughly every 20 minutes to keep a fresh scent in the area. The ‘old’ one is then cut up and used as ground-bait. That way the freshest scent is always your hook bait.

Not a touch yet. Strange these trips, even though you are not expecting to catch after a few hours you start to feel a bit disappointed. That’s our hobby for you – forever the optimist. Most strange, a man has walked along the shore line towards me and then just disappeared. Just checked and due to the recent land slips it means that you can now climb to the top. That would have been a good one in the half-light earlier – a man in black vanishing with no trace.

Haven’t checked the time but I’m now in the throes of last-cast’s, I’ve just baited up heavily after a little time spent casting further out. For some reason I’m feeling very confident, no idea why.

No action in the last-cast-hour infact I’ve not had a touch all day. Feeling pretty certain that I was fishing correctly, so it could be a case of trying another state of the tide in different weather conditions, or was it simply that the bass were not there? Realistically I’m only fishing for one or two loners so the chances are very slim, but then I often feel that’s the case in summer!

I will keep trying for as long as this weather holds.

Leave a Reply

