August returns

August 25, 2014

Just a quick update from my last two trips. There is a local spot to me that I have always shied away from due to reading of huge tide runs and weed but I thought I must really give it a go. First trip was on the smallest neap tide of the cycle and I fished one hour up and two hours down. Close in rod produced nothing but the distance rod (no more than 50 yards) produced a hard fighting bass of about 2 – 2 1/2 lb.

I went again today and fished the tide up to one hour before high and again had another bass of about 3 – 3 1/2lb however this time to the close in rod 3 hours before high. The weather was really grim this morning but thankfully not as bad as the weather warning predicted. Always nice to fish a ‘new’ spot and get a result especially as in recent years I have really struggled in August.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

The picture really is deceptive as I originally thought it would have made 4 lb but looking at it now I think it would struggle to make 3 1/2 lb, which ties in with the bass length to weight chart (52cms)

Leave a Reply

