Mad for it…

August 23, 2015

A beautiful morning although the sea was strangely moody considering their wasn’t a breath of wind. I was after mackerel again.

Earlier I had walked past 3 lads who were still enjoying a night out. Two of them were new age hippies with the third just hanging on to the thin line of normality and I imagined him struggling with the 9 to 5 grind stone as I walked past.

Couldn’t get out last night due to forgetting that we were taking Thomas out for a meal to say well done for his exam results but in the space of 24 hours it all felt very different, frustratingly so.

Working along the shore line for no reward I happen to come across the 3 lads swimming in the sea. Earlier my mind was wandering and I was thinking about my friends who also like to share the good times and it crossed my mind that after a good night we could also watch the sun rise from this point on the beach – but the thought of skinny dipping has changed my mind somewhat!

The weather changed, the wind picked up and there was more than a hint of rain in the air. As I was leaving I once again came across the group of friends, one of them who appeared least affected by the nights activities asked how I had done to which I gave the usual reply. I then suggested they were very brave to have had an early morning swim,

‘Brave! Fucking mad more like…’

Leave a Reply

