What a Day

August 4, 2010

Here I am sat in the car looking at the waves crashing into the shore and listening to the wind battering the trees, helping to push them into an un-natural angle.

The wipers are on intermittent as the drizzle tries really hard to turn to rain. I was in a dilemma; the forecast said that the wind would change in direction and any rain would only be showers. However the wipers were now no longer needed, so saying a pray to the weather gods I set-off. As I walked, the wind though not changing direction, was starting to lessen. Things were starting to look good.

I have lost count the amount of trips this year and I have yet to experience a bite let alone a bass! It really has been very barren for me, however I was soon at my mark casting out recently caught mackerel to their chosen spots.

The weather to the east was starting to look a bit dark, two walkers decided to bid a hasty retreat as it started to look very threatening. A bite, I can’t believe it, after all this time I go and miss it!

At least its a sign that I am still doing something right, so with renewed enthusiasm I am soon searching the likely spots. The clouds now look very dark and the wind is starting to pick up as the first drops of rain start to drop big and heavy as I put my wet weather gear on.

Thunder crashes as the wind picks up and blows my tripod and rods across the beach, what an amazing storm. Hailstones start to fall as big as marbles as I struggle to bring in the line now festooned with weed from the water’s edge. There is no discernible horizon all around me as I am stood alone in the middle of one of the best storms I have been in for years.

As soon as it starts its over and I am putting out the rods again. The first rod is out however while making ready the second I notice it bounce, must be the wave action I think to myself, before realising the sea is as smooth as a mill-pond – blast another bite missed. Two in one trip and I miss both!

What a Day

For the next hour I sit and marvel at the conditions, it really was great just to be out. No further action came to my rods as I packed away just as the tide was starting to turn… may be next time.

2 Responses to “What a Day”

  1. Interresting photo. I like the composition and the depth created with the lines in the foreground. Nice and dramatic skies!

Leave a Reply

